Site Content

Special Education Resource Links available to parents:


General Information

Texans for Special Ed. Reform: https://www.texans4spedreform.org/

Acronyms: http://www.parentcompanion.org/article/special-education-acronyms-and-terms

Books about children with Special Needs: www.specialneedsbookreview.com

Navigate Life Texas, Family Resources: https://www.navigatelifetexas.org

Center for Parent Information and Resources: www.nichy.org has changed to: https://www.parentcenterhub.org/nichcy-gone/ 

Texas Parent to Parent: https://www.txp2p.org/resources/resources 

Disabled World – Disability Awareness: https://www.disabledworld.com/disability/awareness/ 

The Arc of North Texas: http://arcnorthtexas.org/ 

Especially Needed:  https://ESpeciallyneeded.org

Path Project:  https://prntexas.org/texas-ptis/path-project/


Policy and Procedure:

IDEA Website: https://sites.ed.gov/idea/

Wright’s Law – parent education: www.Wrightslaw.com

Texas Education Agency (policies and procedures): https://tea.texas.gov/

Understood – parent resource: https://www.understood.org/en


Autism:

Parent and Teacher Resources for students with Autism: www.adaptingforautism.com

Texas Autism Society: http://www.texasautismsociety.org 

Disabled World – Autism: https://www.disabled-world.com/health/neurology/autism/


Behavior Intervention:

Behavior Network - https://www.behaviornetwork.net/


Birth Injuries:

https://www.childbirthinjuries.com/resources/special-education/


Cerebral Palsy

https://www.drugwatch.com/cerebral-erbs-palsy/


Down Syndrome:  

National Down Syndrome Society:  https://www.ndss.org/about-down-syndrome/down-syndrome-facts/

Global Down Syndrome Foundation:  https://www.globaldownsyndrome.org/about-down-syndrome/facts-about-down-syndrome/

National Down Syndrome Congress:  https://www.ndsccenter.org/

Down Syndrome Guild of Dallas:  http://downsyndromedallas.org/

Dental Care:  https://www.emergencydentistsusa.com/down-syndrome-and-dental-care/


Dyslexia:  

Dallas International Dyslexia Association (IDA):  https://dal.dyslexiaida.org/

Advocating:  https://dyslexiaida.org/advocating-for-a-child-with-dyslexia-within-the-public-education-system/

Muti-Sensory Reading Center:  https://dyslexiasite.com/

Resource Links for Dyslexia:  https://www.readingrockets.org/article/top-10-resources-dyslexia

TEA - Handbook for Dyslexia:  https://tea.texas.gov/academics/dyslexia/


Due Process Legal Assistance:

Dodd Law Offices  - Jackie Dodd:  www.DoddLawTexs.com

Disability Rights Texas:  https://www.disabilityrightstx.org/


Estate Planning/Guardianship:

Weeks: Law Firm - Tresi Weeks:  www.Weekslawfirm.com



Specific Learning Disabilities (LD/SLD)

Learning Disabilities Association of America: https://ldaamerica.org/

Special Education Guide:  https://www.specialeducationguide.com/disability-profiles/specific-learning-disabilities/

The Reading Center of Ft. Worth:  http://www.thereadingcenterfortworth.com/

Stand up LD:  http://StandupLD.org



RTI Interventions (RTI):

Intervention Central – RTI: www.interventioncentral.org


Child Care:

Special Needs Child Care - Achievement Center of Texas https://achievementcenteroftexas.org

Dallas Child -  https://dfwchild.com/2018/07/26/special-needs-child-care/ 

Care.Com -  https://www.care.com/specialneeds

Custer Road United Methodist Church Friday Night Friends -  https://www.fridaynitefriends.org/ 

Rays of Light -  https://www.raysoflightdallas.org/programs 

Prestonwood Baptist Church -  http://www.prestonwood.org/connect/kidz/special-needs 

First Baptist Church Allen -  http://fbcallen.org/special-needs/ 




image1